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Division of Oil, Gas & Mining

3 Triad Center « Suite 350 « Salt Lake City, UT 84180-1203 « 801-538-5340 Page 1 of __2_

Failure to Abate Cessation Order

NO. Co3-42-2-3

To the following Permittee or Operator:

Name_William Bishop. Chapter 7 Trustee, Lodestar Energy Inc
Mine_White Oak #1 & #2 X surface X Underground [J Other
County _Carbon _State _Iltah Telephone _(859) 223-7959

Mailing Address 2525 Harrodsburg Road, Suite 235, Lexington, Kentucky 40504

State Permit No.__C/007/001

Ownership Category [] state Federal &l ree (] Mixed
Date of inspection_June 12, 2003 19
Time of inspection _11:00 Flam [Opmto_1:30 Oam Xpm

Operator Name (other than Permittee)

cessation order

Mailing Address
Failure to abate a Cessation Order can result in fines of up to $750 per day for
each day the permittee is out of compliance.

Under authority of the Utah Coal Mining & Reclamation Act, Section 40-10-1 et seq., Utah Code Annofated, 1953,
the undersigned authorized representative of the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining has conducted an inspection of
above mine on above date and has found that a Cessation Order must be issued with respect to each of the condi-
tions, practices or violations listed in the attachment(s). This order constitutes a separate Cessation Order for each
condition, practice or violation listed.

In accordance with Section 40-10-22, Utah Code Annotated, you are ordered to cease immediately the operations
described in the attachment(s) and to perform the affrmative obligations described in the attachment(s) within
the designated time for abatement. Reclamation operations not directly the subject of this order shall continue
while this order is in effect. You are responsible for doing all work in a safe and workmanlike manner.

The undersigned representative finds that this order does [] does not ] require cessation of mining expressly or in
practical effect. For this purpose, “mining” means extracting coal from the earth or a waste pile, and fransporting it
within or from the mine site.

This order shall remain in effect until it expires as provided on reverse side of this form, or is modified, terminated or
vacated by written notice of an authorized representative of the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining.

FAX (859) 223-3793

Date of service/mailing __8/27/03 Time of service/mailing__4:30 [T am K pm
Permittee/Operator representative Title

Signature

Wayne H., Western Environmental Scientist III

Divisioyﬂ Oil, Gas & Mining representative Title

/ ALy ?é . ‘?ZM/A/Z 0" L~ #42

Signatugg Identification Number

SEE REVERSE SIDE

CERTIFIED #7099 3400 0016 8895 5972
WHITE-DOGM YELLOW-OPERATOR PINK-OSM GOLDENROD-NOV FILE

DOGM/CO-1 an equal opportunity employer Rev. 5/92




IMPORTANT — READ CAREFULLY

1. PENALTIES.

a. Proposed assessment. The Board of Qil, Gas
& Mining assesses fines based upon a proposed
assessment recommended by an assessment
officer. You may submit written information
pertaining to violation(s) covered by this order
within 15 days of the date this notice or order is
served on you or your agent. Information will be
used by the assessment officer in determining facts
surrounding the violation(s) and amount of
penalty. A representative of the Division of Oil, Gas
& Mining will serve the proposed assessment on
you or your agent within 30 days of issuance of
notice or order.

b. Assessment. The penalty will be finalized
unless you or your agent file a written request
within 15 days of receipt of proposed assessment
for an informal hearing before the assessment
officer.

For each violation included in this notice, a penalty
of up to $5,000 may be assessed for each separate
day the violation continues.

If you fail to abate any violations within the time
set for abatement or for meeting any interim step,
you will be assessed a minimum penalty of $750 for
each day of continuing violation beyond the time
set for abatement. You will be issued a Cessation
Crder requiring you o cease surface coal mining
operations or the portion of the operations relevant
to the violation.

2. INFORMAL PUBLIC HEARING.

An informal public hearing may be held at or near
the mine site if this notice requires cessation of
mining, expressly or in practical effect. On the
reverse of this page, the authorized representative
has made a finding as to whether or not this notice

requires cessation of mining. Please review this
finding and inform the authorized representative it
you disagree with it. (See Utah Admin. R. 645-400-350
etseq.)

If this notice requires cessation of mining, it will
expire within 30 days from date you are notified
unless an informal public hearing is held or waived,
or the condition, practice or violation is abated
within the 30-day period. You will be notified of
date. time and location of hearing.

3. FORMAL REVIEW AND TEMPORARY RELIEF.
You may apply for review of this notice or assess-
ment before the Board of Oil, Gas & Mining by
submitting an application for hearing within 30
days of receipt of notice or assessment by you or
your agent. Apply to:

Secretary

Board of Qil, Gas & Mining

3 Triad Center, Suite 350

Salt Lake City, UT 84180-1203

If applying for a formal board hearing. you may
submit with your petition for review a request for
temporary relief from this notice. Procedures for
obtaining a formal board hearing are contained in
the board’s Rules of Practice and Procedure and in
Utah Admin. R. 645-401-800 et seq.

4. EFFECT ON PERMIT.

The permit may be suspended or revoked if it is
determined that a pattern of violations of the act,
regulations or permit conditions exists, and that the
violations were caused by an unwarranted or willful
failure to comply.

For further information, consult Utah Code Annotated
Section 40-10-20, 21, 22 and 23, Utah Admin. R.
645-400-300 ot seq. and R. 645-401 et seq. or contact
the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining at (801) 538-5340.
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Oil, Gas & Mining Page. 2 of 2

/ CESSATION ORDER NO. Co3-42-2-3

ViolationNo._1  of 1

Nature of condition, practice or violation

Imminent _danger due to the failure of the permittee to eliminate conditions which
constitute a hazard to the health and safety of the public

Provisions of act, regulations or permit violated

UCA 40-10-17 (2) (P)
UCA 40-10-18 (10)

UAC _R645-300-145

Check appropriate box
[X] Condition. practice or violation is creating an imminent danger to health or safety of the public.
[ | Permittee/Operator is/has been conducting mining activities without a permit.

[ ] Condition, practice or violation is causing or can reasonably be expected to cause significant, imminent
environmental harm to land, air or water resources. Cessation Order C03-42-1-3

X| permittee or Operator has failed to abate Violation(s) No._________included in Notice of Violation
No. N within time for abatement originally fixed or subsequently extended.

Operation(s) o be ceased immediately

All buildings and hite Qak (Valcam) loadout need to be removed
and the site left in a safe condition.

Affirmative obligation(s) and abatement time (if applicable)

Removal of buildings and structures was to bhe done by July 15, 2003, Failure
to elimi ildi ) i ; of up to $750 pe
day for each day the permittee is not in compliance. Effective date of this

FTA/CO is July 16, 2003

WHITE-DOGM  YELLOW-OSM  PINK-PERMITTEE/OPERATOR  GOLDENROD-NOV FILE

DOGM/CO-2 an equal opportunity employer 11/85
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NATURAL RESOURCES

P Division of Oil, Gas & Mining
3 Triad Center « Suite 350 « Salt Lake City, UT 84180-1203 « 801-538-5340 Page 1 of 2

Failure to Abate Cessation Order

NO. C.03-42-2-2

To the following Permittee or Operator:

Name i
Mine_White Qak #1 & #2 X surface (X underground ] Other
County Carbon State Utah Telephone _(859) 223-7959

Mailing Address
State Permit No..C/007/001

Ownership Category [ state X Federal X Fee (] Mixed
Date of inspection_Iune 12, 2003 A9
Time of inspection _11:00 Kl am. [ pm.to_1:30 Oam Klpm

cessation order

Operator Name (other than Permittee)

Mailing Address
Failure to abate a Cessation Order can result in fines of up to $750 per day for

each day the permittee is out of compliance.

Under authority of the Utah Coal Mining & Reclamation Act, Section 40-10-1 et seq., Utah Code Annotated, 1953,
the undersigned authorized representative of the Division of Qil, Gas & Mining has conducted an inspection of
above mine on above date and has found that a Cessation Order must be issued with respect to each of the condi-
tions, practices or violations listed in the attachment(s). This order constitutes a separate Cessation Order for each
condition, practice or violation listed.

In accordance with Section 40-10-22, Utah Code Annotated, you are ordered to cease immediately the operations
described in the attachment(s) and to perform the affrmative obligations described in the attachment(s) within
the designated time for abatement, Reclamation operations not directly the subject of this order shall continue
while this order is in effect. You are responsible for doing all work in a safe and workmanlike manner.

The undersigned representative finds that this order does [] does not ] require cessation of mining expressly or in
practical effect. For this purpose, "mining” means extracting coal from the earth or a waste pile, and transporting it
within or from the mine site.

This order shall remain in effect until it expires as provided on reverse side of this form, or is modified, terminated or
vacated by written notice of an authorized representative of the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining.

FAX (859) 223-3793

Date of service/mailing _8/27/03 Time of service/mailing_4:30 [l am. Kl pm
Permittee/Operator representative Title

Signature

Wayne H. Western Environmental Soientisf 11T

Division of Oil, Gas & Mining representative Title

f4/‘%%/ 14/ Z1 // /lf%:fc«&, #42

Signatdre ldentification Number

SEE REVERSE SIDE

WHITE-DOGM YELLOW-OPERATOR PINK-OSM GOLDENROD-NOV FILE CERTIFIED #7099 3400 0016 8895 5972

DOGM/CO-1 an equal opportunity employer Rev. 5/92




IMPORTANT — READ CAREFULLY

4. PENALTIES.

a Proposed assessment. The Board of Oil, Gas
& Mining assesses fines based upon a proposed
assessment recommended by an assessment
officer. You may submit written information
pertaining to violation(s) covered by this order
within 15 days of the date this notice or order is
served on you or your agent. Information will be
used by the assessment officer in determining facts
surrounding the violation(s) and amount of
penalty. A representative of the Division of Oil, Gas
& Mining will serve the proposed assessment on
you or your agent within 30 days of issuance of
notice or order.

b. Assessment. The penalty will be finalized
unless you or your agent file a written request
within 15 days of receipt of proposed assessment
for an informal hearing before the assessment
officer.

For each violation included in this notice, a penalty
of up to $5,000 may be assessed for each separate
day the violation continues.

If you fail to abate any violations within the time
set for abatement or for meeting any interim step.
you will be assessed a minimum penalty of $750 for
each day of continuing violation beyond the time
set for abatement. You will be issued a Cessation
Order requiring you to cease surface coal mining
operations or the portion of the operations relevant
to the violation.

2. INFORMAL PUBLIC HEARING.

An informal public hearing may be held at or near
the mine site if this notice requires cessation of
mining. expressty or in practical effect. On the
reverse of this page. the authorized representative
has made a finding as to whether or not this notice

requires cessation of mining. Please review this
finding and inform the authorized representative if
you disagree with it. (See Utah Admin. R. 645-400-350
et seq.)

If this notice requires cessation of mining, it will
expire within 30 days from date you are notified
unless an informal public hearing is held or waived,
or the condition, practice or violation is abated
within the 30-day period. You will be noftified of
date, time and location of hearing.

3. FORMAL REVIEW AND TEMPORARY RELIEF.
You may apply for review of this notice or assess-
ment before the Board of Oil, Gas & Mining by
submitting an application for hearing within 30
days of receipt of notice or assessment by you or
your agent, Apply to:

Secretary

Board of Qil, Gas & Mining

3 Triad Center, Suite 350

Salt Lake City, UT 84180-1203

If applying for a formal board hearing. you may
submit with your petition for review a request for
temporary relief from this notice. Procedures for
obtaining a formal board hearing are contained in
the board’s Rules of Practice and Procedure and in
Utah Admin. R. 645-401-800 et seq.

4. EFFECT ON PERMIT.

The permit may be suspended or revoked if it is
determined that a pattern of violations of the act,
regulations or permit conditions exists, and that the
violations were caused by an unwarranted or willful
failure to comply.

For further information, consult Utah Code Annotated
Section 40-10-20, 21, 22 and 23, Utah Admin. R.
645-400-300 et seq. and R. 645-401 et seq. or contact
the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining af (801) 538-5340.
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Qil. Gas & Mining Page 2 of. 2

CESSATION ORDER NO. Co3-42-2-2

Violation No.__ 1 __of 1

Nature of condition, practice or violation

Imminent danger to public safety created b ermittee's failure to backfill and

grade highwalls.

Provisions of act, regulations or permit violated

UAC _R645-301-553
UCA 40-10-18

Check appropriate box
[x] Condition, practice or violation is creating an imminent danger to health or safety of the public.
| | Permittee/Operator is/has been conducting mining activities without a permit.

[ ] Condition, practice or viciation is causing or can reasonably be expected to cause significant, imminent
environmental harm to land, air or water resources. Cegsation Order C03-42-1-2

X Permittee or Operator has failed to abate Violation(s) No._______included in Notice of Violation
No N____ within time for abatement originally fixed or subsequently extended.

Operation(s) to be ceased immediately

#1 & #2 Mine (Whiskey Cree

Affirmative obligation(s) and abatement time (if applicable)

Backfill of all highwalls was to be dome by July 21, 2003. Failure to do so can

WWWMM%%W%%
ate of this FTA/CO is July 22, 2003.

WHITE-DOGM  YELLOW-OSM  PINK-PERMITTEE/OPERATOR  GOLDENROD-NOV FilE

DOGM/CO-2 an equal opportunity employer 11/85




l’l STATE OF UTAH
S il oy
3 Triad Center o Suite 350 « Salt Lake City, UT 84180-1203 » 801-538-5340 Pagelot .2
FAILURE TO ABATE CESSATION ORDER
NO. C03-42-2-1

- To the following Permittee or Operator:

Q) Nome_WILLIAM BTSHOP, CHAPTER 7 TRUSTEE,LODESTAR ENFRGY INC

-E Mine__White Oak #1 & #2 OJ Surface (%X Underground L] Other
() County _Carbon State _Utah Telephone (859) 223--7959

c Mailing Address_ 2525 Harrodsburg Road, Suite 235, Lexin

o State Permit No. €/007/001

% Ownership Category (] state K] Federal Xl Fee X Mixed
(7} ] Date of inspection__June 12, 2003 A9

8 Time of inspection _11:00 Xam [UOpmtol1:30 Oam X pm
O

Operator Name (other than Permittee)

Mailing Address
Failure to abate a Cessation Order can result in fines up to $750 per day for each
day the permittee is out of compliance.

Under authority of the Utah Coal Mining & Reclamation Act, Section 40-10-1 et seq., Utah Code Annotated, 1953,

the undersigned authorized representative of the Division of Qil, Gas & Mining has conducted an inspection of

above mine on above date and has found that a Cessation Order must be issued with respect to each of the condi-
tions, practices or violations listed in the attachment(s). This order constitutes a separate Cessation Order for each
condition, practice or violation listed,

In accordance with Section 40-10-22, Utah Code Annotaied, you are ordered to cease immediately the operations
described in the attachment(s) and to perform the affirmative obligations described in the attachment(s) within
the designated time for abatement. Reclamation operations not directly the subject of this order shall continue
while this order is in effect. You are responsibie for doing all work in a safe and workmaniike manner.

The undersigned representative finds that this order does [_] does not [] require cessation of mining expressly or in
practical effect. For this purpose, "mining” means extracting coal from the earth or a waste pile, and transporting it
within or from the mine site.

This order shali remain in effect until it expires as provided on reverse side of this form, or is modified, terminated or
vacated by written notice of an authorized representative of the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining.

FAX (859) 223-3793

Date of service/mailing __8/27/03 Time of service/mailing_4:30 [Jam X pm
Permittee/Operator representative Title
SignofUre —
Wayne H, Western Environmental Scientist I
D|v15|on f Oil, Gas yg reptésentative Title
/z't/ ) zg #ho
Slgnof Identification Number

SEE REVERSE SIDE
WHITE-DOGM YELLOW-OPERATOR PINK-OSM GOLDENROD-NOV FILE

CERTIFIED #7099 3400 0016 8895 5972

DOGM/CO-1 an equal opportunity employer Rev. 5/92




IMPORTANT — READ CAREFULLY

1. PENALTIES.

a. Proposed assessment. The Board of Oil, Gas
& Mining assesses fines based upon a proposed
assessment recommended by an assessment
officer. You may submit written information
pertaining fo violation(s) covered by this order
within 15 days of the date this notice or order is
served on you or your agent. Information will be
used by the assessment officer in determining facts
surrounding the violation(s) and amount of
penailty. A representative of the Division of Qil, Gas
& Mining will serve the proposed assessment on
you or your agent within 30 days of issuance of
notice or order.

b. Assessment. The penalty will be finalized
unless you or your agent file a written request
within 15 days of receipt of proposed assessment
for an informal hearing before the assessment
officer.

For each violation included in this notice, a penalty
of up 1o $5,000 may be assessed for each separate
day the violation continues.

If you fail to abate any violations within the time
set for abatement or for meeting any inferim step,
you will be assessed a minimum penalty of $750 for
each day of continuing violation beyond the time
set for abatement. You will be issued a Cessation
Order requiring you fo cease surface coal mining
operations or the portion of the operations relevant
to the violation.

2. INFORMAL PUBLIC HEARING.

An informal public hearing may be held at or near
the mine site if this notice requires cessation of
mining. expressly or in practical effect. On the
reverse of this page, the authorized representative
has made a finding as to whether or not this notice

requires cessation of mining. Please review this
finding and inform the authorized representative if
you disagree with it (See Utah Admin. R. 645-400-350
et seq.)

If this notice requires cessation of mining, it will
expire within 30 days from date you are notified
unless an informal public hearing is held or waived,
or the condition, practice or violation is abated
within the 30-day period. You will be notified of
date, time and location of hearing.

3. FORMAL REVIEW AND TEMPORARY RELIEF.
You may apply for review of this notice or assess-
ment before the Board of Oil, Gas & Mining by
submitting an application for hearing within 30
days of receipt of notice or assessment by you or
your agent. Apply to:

Secretary

Board of Oil, Gas & Mining

3 Triad Center, Suite 350

Salt Lake City, UT 84180-1203

If applying for a formal board hearing. you may
submit with your petition for review a request for
temporary relief from this notice. Procedures for
obtaining a formal board hearing are contained in
the board’s Rules of Practice and Procedure and in
Utah Admin. R. 645-401-800 et seq.

4. EFFECT ON PERMIT.

The permit may be suspended or revoked if it is
determined that a pattern of violations of the act,
regulations or permit conditions exists, and that the
violations were caused by an unwarranted or witlful
failure to comply.

For further information, consult Utah Code Annotated
Section 40-10-20, 21, 22 and 23, Utah Admin. R.
645-400-300 et seq. and R. 645-401 et seq. or contact
the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining at (801) 538-5340.
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Oil. Gas & Mining Page
/ CESSATION ORDER NO. C_03-42-2-1

ViolatonNo._ 1 of 1

Nature of condition, practice or violation

Imminent danger to the health and safety of the public by the permittee's failure
t

Provisions of act, regulations or permit violated

UCA  40-10-18 (4)
UCA 40-10-18 (10)

UAC_ R645-301=551
UAC R645-301-513

Check appropriate box
K] Condition, practice or violation is creating an imminent danger to health or safety of the public.
[ ] Permittee/Operator is/has been conducting mining activities without a permit.

[ ] Condition, practice or violation is causing or can reasonably be expected to cause significant, imminent
environmental harm to land, air or water resources. Cessation Order C03-42-1-1

ga Permittee or Operator has failed to abate Violation(s) No._____included in Notice of Violation
No N within time for abatement originally fixed or subsequently extended.

Operation(s) to be ceased immediately

Portals 14, 15, 16 at White Oak #1 & #2 Mine (Whiskey Creek Mine) were ordered
sealed by July 15, 2003. Failure to do so can result in a fine of $750 per day

for each day the permittee is in violation

Affirmative obligation(s) and abatement time (if applicable)

Permanently seal portals in accordance with a i
to be dome by July 15, 2003. Effective date of FTA/CO is July 16, 2003.

WHITE-DOGM  YELLOW-OSM  PINK-PERMITTEE/OPERATOR GOLDENROD-NOV FILE

DOGM/CO-2 an equal opportunity employer 11/85
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