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State of Utah

) DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
NP | DIVISION OF OIL, GAS AND MINING

355 West North Temple
Governor 3 Triad Cen.ter, Suite 350
Ted Stewart Salt Lake City, Utah 84180-1203
Executive Director § 801-538-5340

James W. Carter 801-359-3940 (Fax)
Division Director 801-538-5319 (TDD)

Michael O. Leavitt

December 14, 1993

CERTIFIED RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED
P 074 975 378

Mr. Joe Fielder

Sunnyside Mine
General Manager
P.O. Box 99
Sunnyside, UT 84539

Re: Finalized Assessment for State Violation #C93-32-1-1, Sunnyside Coal
Company/Sunnyside Mine, ACT/007/007. Foldér #5, Carbon County, Utah

Dear Mr. Fielder:

The civil penalty for the above-referenced violation has been finalized. This
assessment has been finalized as a result of a review of all pertinent data and facts
including those presented in the assessment conference by you or your
representative and the Division of Oil, Gas and Mining inspector.

Within fifteen (15) days of your receipt of this letter, you or your agent may
make a written appeal to the Board of Oil, Gas and Mining. To do so, you must
escrow the assessed civil penalty with the Division within a maximum of thirty
(30) days of receipt of this letter, but in all cases prior to the Board Hearing.
Failure to comply with this requirement will result in a waiver of your right of
further recourse.

If no timely appeal is made, this assessed civil penalty must be tendered
within thirty (30) days of your receipt of this letter. Please remit payment to the
Division, mail c/o Vicki Bailey at the address listed above.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Sincerely,
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Ronald W. Daniels

Assessment Conference Officer
sm
Enclosure
cc: Bernie Freeman, OSM, AFO
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WORKSHEET FOR ASSESSMENT OF CESSATION ORDERS
UTAH DIVISION OF OIL, GAS AND MINING

COMPANY/MINE Sunnyside Coal Company/Sunnyside Mine

CO # (C-93-32-1-1

PERMIT # ACT/007/007 VIOLATION 1 OF 1

Date of Abatement of Cessation Order: 5/2/93

Assessment Conference Report: The company made the argument
before the Assessment Conference Officer that R645-100-800,
"Computation of Time", might be the appropriate rule governing
time periods for cessation orders.

Ut. Admin. R645-100-810 states that "except as otherwise
provided, computation of time under the R645 Rules is based on
calendar days." To apply R645-100-800 to cessation orders
(C.0.’s) would negate the usefulness of a C.0. as an enforcement
device. It is clear that the provisions of R645-401-420 would
apply to C.0.’s so that each day during which such failure (to
abate) continues a fine of $750 applies.

The assessment is finalized as proposed.

Date of Receipt of Cessation Order: 4/28/93

List the days of Failure to Abate: _4

Number of Days x $750.00/day = TOTAL ASSESSED FINE: $3.,000

Assessment Date 12/10/93

Assessment Officer: Ronald W. Daniels

Proposed Assessment ' X Final Assessment
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