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3 Triad Center o Suite 350 « Sait Lake City, UT 84180-1203 « 801-538-5340 Page 1 of

NO. N_00-26-1-1

To the following Permittee or Operator:
West Ridge Resources, Inc.

Name

Mine__ West Ridge Mine (] surface % Underground (] Other
County___Carbon State _Utah Telophone __(435) 637-5385

Mailing Address P.0. Boyx 202, Price, ah 84501

State Permit No._ /0077041

Ownership Category [ state B Federal (] Fee (] Mixed
Date of inspection Noveamber 13 & 20, 2000 ‘ 19

Time of inspection 10:00 & am. gp-m to 3:00 (Xfﬂ.m. %

Operator Name (other than Permittee) _Same as above

Mailing Address__Same _as zbove

Under authority of the Utah Coal Mining and Reclamation Act, Section 40-10-1 et seq., Utah Code Annof.afed, 1953,
the undersighed authorized representative of the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining has conducted an inspgc_:hon of
above mine on above date and has found violation(s) of the act, regulations or required permit condition(s) listed
in attachment(s). This notice constitutes a separate Notice of Violation for each violation listed.

You must abate each of these violations within the designated abatement time. You are responsible for doing all
work in a safe and workmanlike manner.

The undersigned representative finds that cessation of mining is [Jis not @(expressly or in'proc'riccl effect rgqu_ired
by this notice. For this purpose, “mining” means extracting coal from the earth or a waste pile, and transporting if
within or from the mine site.

This notice shall remain in effect until it expires as provided on reverse side of this form, or is modified, terminated or
vacated by written notice of an authorized representative of the director of the Division of Oil, Gas & Mining. Time for
abatement may be extended by authorized representative for good cause, if a request is made within a reasonable
time before the end of abatement period.

No7amber 27, 2000

2:30
Date of serviceAdiliigt Time of service/iditr:_ ~"~""  [Jam. XX pm
Mike Glasson Sr. Environmental Ccordinator
Permittee/Operator representative Title
Signature
Wm. J. Malencik | Sr. Reclamation Specialis®
Divisi,or;}\) of Oil, Gas & Mining representative Title
’ P . 4 .
. 'j ’22//’/{/,// #26
Signature = Identification Number

Hiele : M0k e Jovsta fiflased 70 i 743 e
SEE REVERSE SIDE
WHITE-DOGM YELLOW-OPERATOR PINK-OSM GOLDENROD-NOV FILE

DOGM/NOV-1 @ m an equal opportunity employer Rev. 5/92

PERFORMANCE STANDARD CODE A-3




IMPORTANT — READ CAREFULLY

4. PENALTIES.

a. Proposed assessment. The Board of Qil, Gas
& Mining assesses fines based upon a proposed
assessment recommended by an assessment
officer. You may submit written information
pertaining fo violation(s) covered by this order
within 15 days of the date this notice or order is
served on you or your agent. Information will be
used by the assessment officer in determining facts
surrounding the violation(s) and amount of
penalty. A representative of the Division of Oil, Gas
& Mining will serve the proposed assessment on
you or your agent within 30 days of issuance of
notice or order.

b. Assessment. The penalty will be finalized
unless you or your agent file a written request
within 15 days of receipt of proposed assessment
for an informal hearing before the assessment
officer.

For each violation included in this notice, a penalty
of up to $5,000 may be assessed for each separate
day the violation continues.

If you fail to abate any violations within the time
set for abatement or for meeting any interim step,
you will be assessed a minimum penailty of $750 for
each day of continuing violation beyond the time
set for abatement. You will be issued a Cessation
Order requiring you to cease surface coal mining
operations or the portion of the operations relevant
to the violation.

2. INFORMAL PUBLIC HEARING.

An informal public hearing may be held at or near
the mine site if this notice requires cessation of
mining, expressly or in practical effect. On the
reverse of this page, the authorized representative
has made a finding as to whether or not this notice

requires cessation of mining. Please review this
finding and inform the authorized representative if
you disagree with it. (See Utah Admin. R. 645-400-350
etseq.)

If this notice requires cessation of mining, it will
expire within 30 days from date you are notified
unless an informat public hearing is held or waived,
or the condition, practice or violation is abated
within the 30-day period. You will be notified of
date, time and location of hearing.

3. FORMAL REVIEW AND TEMPORARY RELIEF.
You may apply for review of this notice or assess-
ment before the Board of Oil, Gas & Mining by
submitting an application for hearing within 30
days of receipt of notice or assessment by you or
your agent. Apply to:

Secretary

Board of Qil, Gas & Mining

3 Triad Center, Suite 350

Salt Lake City, UT 84180-1203

If applying for a formal board hearing, you may
submit with your petition for review a request for
temporary relief from this notice. Procedures for
obtaining a formal board hearing are contained in
the board’s Rules of Practice and Procedure and in
Utah Admin. R. 645-401-800 et seq.

4. EFFECT ON PERMIT.

The permit may be suspended or revoked if it is
determined that a pattern of violations of the act,
regulations or permit conditions exists, and that the
violations were caused by an unwarranted or willful
failure to comply.

For further information, consult Utah Code Annoiated
Section 40-10-20, 21, 22 and 23, Utah Admin. R.
645-400-300 et seq. and R. 645-401 et seq. or contact
the Division of Oll, Gas & Mining at (801) §38-5340.
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION NO. N_00-26-1-1

1

Violation No. of

Nature of violation
-Failure to comply with terms and conditions of the permit, all applicable

performance standards, and requirements of the State Program.
-Failure to timely respond to the Technical Analysis dated 9/26/2000.
This identifies six areas and subjects that the permittee needed to address.

This has not been complied with to date.

Provisions of act, regulations or permit violated
Utah Code Annotated, Title 40, Chapter 10

Utah Coal Rules R645-300-143

Portion of operation to which notice applies
Pumphouse Area

Remedial action required (including any interim steps)

Submit a full and adeguate response.

Abatement time (including interim steps) :
Submit permittee's response by 5:00 p.m. on January 9, 2001..

WHITE-DOGM YELLOW-OSM PINK-PERMITTEE/OPERATOR GOLDENROD-NOV FILE

DOGM/NOV-2 an equal opportunity employer 11/85




