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Citation for N on-Compliance Citation #:

] Utah Coal Regulatory Program Permit Number:  C0150032
:1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84114

oSNNS Phone: (801) 538-5340 Fax: (801) 359-3040 Date Issued:  10/29/2009

¥ | NOTICE OF VIOLATION CESSATION ORDER (CO) FAILURE TO ABATE CO

Permittee Name: Genwal Resources, Inc. 49
10/28/2009

10/29/2009

KHOUSKEE

Inspector Number and ID:

Mine Name: Crandall Canyon Mine

Certified Return Receipt Number: 7008 0150 0002 0896 5144

Nature of condition, practice, or violation:

Date and Time of Inspection:

Date and Time of Service:

2:30 pm

Failure to maintain the sediment pond sediment level below the approved 60% clean elevation and maximum sediment elevation
level as approved in the Mining and Reclamation Plan (MRP). 60% sediment elevation is 7769.0, Max elevation is 7770.0 and
existing sediment level is 7774.7. :

Provisions of Act, regulations, or permit violated:
] R645-301.742.221.3 R645-301.742.221.37
R645-301.742.221.31 Page 7-53, Section 7.52 (MRP)
R645-301.742.221.33 Plate 7-3 Sediment Pond As-Built (MRP)
R645-301.742.221.36

l:l This order requires Cessation of ALL mining activities. (Check box if appropriate.)

D Condition, practice, or violation is creating an
imminent danger to health or safety of the public.

D Permittee is/has been conducting mining activities without a
Permit.

D Condition, practice, or violation is causing or can
reasonably be expected to cause significant, imminent
environmental harm to land, air, or water resources.

Permittee has failed to abate Violation(s) included in ]
[INotice of Violation or [C] Cessation Order within time
for abatement originally fixed or subsequently extended.

E] This order requires Cessation of PORTION(S) of mining activities.

Abatement Times (if applicable).

Mining activities to be ceased immediately: I:]Yes No

Action(s) required: Yes D No

The sediment pond needs to have the sediment cleaned/removed by November 29, 2009 to comply with (Plate 7-3 Sediment Pond
As Built) the MRP and the appropriate State Regulations listed above.

DAVE SHAVER

(Print) Permittee Representative

[Ta; led @ Faxed

Permittee Representative’s Signature - Date

DOGM Representative’s Si

SEE REVERSE SIDE Of This Form For Instructions And Additional Information
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IMPORTANT - READ CAREFULLY

Pursuant to the Utah Coal Mined Land Reclamation Act, Utah Code Ann. § 40-10-1 et. seq. (Act), the undersigned authori.zed )
representative of the Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining (DOGM) has conducted an inspection and found that a Notice of Violation
or Cessation Order must be issued.

This order shall remain in effect until it is modified, terminated or vacated by written notice of an authorized representative of
DOGM.

1. PENALTIES.
Proposed assessment. DOGM assesses fines based upon a proposed recommendation by an assessment officer. If there is
additional information you wish DOGM to consider regarding the cessation order and proposed fine, please submit that to
DOGM within 15 days of the date this notice or order is served on you or your agent. Such information will be used by the
assessment officer in determining facts surrounding the violation(s) and amount of penalty. Once DOGM has determined the
proper penalty, it will serve the proposed assessment on you or your agent, no later than 30 days of the issuance of this notice
or order. See Utah Admin. Code R645-401-600 et. seq.

The penalty will be final unless you or your agent file, within 15 days of receipt of the proposed assessment, a written request
for an informal heéaring before the assessment officer.

Assessment. For each violation included in this notice, a penalty of up to $5,000 may be assessed for each separate day the
violation continues.

If you fail to abate any violation within the time set for abatement or for meeting any interim step, you will be assess'ed an
additional minimum penalty of $750 for each day of continuing violation beyond the time set for abatement. You will be
issued a Cessation Order requiring cessation of surface coal mining operations or the portion of the operations relevant to the
violation.

2. INFORMAL PUBLIC HEARING.
On the reverse side of this page, an authorized representative has made a finding as to whether or not this notice requires
cessation of mining. If this order or notice requires cessation of mining, expressly or in practical effect, you may request that
an informal public hearing be held at or near the mine site. If you wish an informal public hearing be held, please contact an
authorized representative from DOGM. See Utah Admin. Code R645-400-350 et seq. Once an informal public hearing is
scheduled, you will be notified of the date, time, and location of the hearing.

If this notice requires cessation of mining, it will expire within 30 days from the date you are notified unless an informal
public hearing is held or waived, or the condition, practice, or violation is abated within the 30-day period.

3. FORMAL REVIEW AND TEMPORARY RELIEF,

‘You may appeal this notice or order to the Board of Qil, Gas, and Mining by submitting an application for hearing within 30
days of receipt of this notice or order. See Utah Admin. Code R645-300-164.300. Please submit the application for hearing
to:

Secretary

Board of Oil, Gas, and Mining

1594 West North Temple, Suite 1210

PO Box 145801

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-5801

If applying for a formal board hearing, you may submit with your petition for review a request for “temporary relief” from
this notice. Procedures for obtaining a formal board hearing are contained in the Board’s Rules of Practice and Procedure and
in Utah Admin. Code R645-401-800 et. seq.

4. EFFECT ON PERMIT. . .
The permit may be suspended or revoked if it is determined that a pattern of violations of the Act, regulations or permit
conditions exists, and that the violations were caused by an unwarranted or willful failure to comply.
For further information, consult Utah Code Ann. § 40-10-20 through 40-10-23 and Utah Admin. Code R645-400-300 et. seq.
and R645-401 et. seq., or contact the Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining at (801) 538-5340.
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