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Citation for Non-Compliance
Utah CoaI Regulatory Program
1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Phone: (801) 538-5340 Fax: (801) 359-3940

Citation #: 10123
Permit Number: C0250005

Date Issued: fr6/1912013

V NOTICE OF VIOLATION f| cESSArroN oRDER (co) T FAILURE TO ABATE CO

Permittee !{ame: ALTON COAL DEVELOPMEFIT LLC Inspector Number and ID: I JHELFRIC

Mine Name: COAL HOLLOW Date and Time of lnspection: 0611212013

CertifiedReturnReceipn{umber: -100+ J 510 0t0 + ltr}+ {r14h Date and Time of Service: 06/19/2013

Nature ofcondition, prrctice, or viohtion:
Failure to comply with th€ terms and conditions ofthe permit (Chapter 3, Appendix 3-5, page 14, paragraph 2) which r€quire the

treafinent of 240 acres per year.

Provisions of Act, regulations, or permit violated;
R645-300-143

This order requires Cessation of ALL mining activities. (Check box if appropriate.)

l-'l Condition, practice, or violation is creating an

- 
imminent danger to health or safety of the public.

Permittee is/has been conducting mining activities without a
Permit.

f-'l Condition, practice, or violation is causing or cill

- 
reasonably be expected to cause significant, imminent
environmental harm to land. air. or water resources.

l-l Permittee has failed to abate Violation(s) included in
lJ l--lNotice of Violation or n Cessation Order within time

for abatement originally fixed or subsequently extended.

n This order requires Cessation of PORTION(S) of mining activities.

Mining activities to be ceased immediately: [V** [Jf'{o Abatement Times (if applicable).

Action(s) required: fl v"" ! Ifo
Submit a comprehensive detailed plan for thc vegetation treafirent of314 acres in areas where sage grouse are known to &equent,

(notjust randomly observed), according to the daa provided in the 2012 sage grouse progrsss repoG (sagebrush flat noted in

figure I ).
Plans must be complete and adequate and implemented upon approval.

The vegetation treatnent plan is due by no later than 5:00 PM July 19, 2013.

The trestment ofthe 314 acres must be completed by no later than September l7ttt, 3013.

Kirk Nicholes JOEJ{ELFRICH
(Print) Permittee Representative
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Permittee Representative's Signature - Date ,ry oocrvr nd/r"t"nutire's Signature - Date

SEE REVERSE SIDE Of This Fort{For Instrugtio1s And Adiitional Information

Citations Home Page
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IMPIORTANT - N.EAI) CAREFULLY

Pursuant to th€ Utah Coal Mned Land Reclanation Act, Utah Code Ann. $ 4& I 0- I et. seq. (Act), the undeniged authoriEd
repr€scntative of the Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining @OGM) has c$ductcd an inspe€tion and foud th* a Notice of Violaion
or Cessdion Order must be issued.

This order shall remain in effect until it is modifie4 t€rminded or vacatd by writt€n notice ofm althorized r€prEs€ntative of
DOGM.

PENALTIES.
Proposed assessment DOGM assesses fines based upon a proposed recommendation by an assessment officer. If there is

additional information you wish DOGM to consider regarding the cessation order and proposed fine, please submit that to
DOGM within I5 days of the date this notice or order is sened on you or your agenl Sueh information will be used by the

assessment officer in determining facts sunounding the violation(s) and amount of penalty. Once DOGM has determined the
proper penalty, it will serve the proposed assessment on you or your agent, no later than 30 days of the issuance of this notice

or order. See Utah Admin. Code R645-401-600 et. seq.

The penalty will be final unless you or your agent file, within l5 days of receipt of the proposed assessment, a written request

for an informal hearing before the assessment officer.

Assessment, For each violation included in this notice, a penalty of up to $5,000 may be assessed for each separate day the

violation continues.

If you fail to abate any violation within the time set for abatement or for meeting any interim step, you will be assessed an

additional minimum penalty of $750 for each day of continuing violation beyond the time set for abatement. You will be

issued a Cessation Order requiring cessation of surface coal mining operations or the portion of the operations relevant to the
violation.

INFORMAL PUBLIC HEARING.
On the reverse side of this page, an authorized representative has made a finding as to whether or not this notice requires

cessation of mining. If this order or notice requires cessation of mining, expressly or in practical effect, you may request that
an informal public hearing be held at or near the mine site. If you wish an informal public hearing be held, please contact an

authorized representative from DOGM. See Utah Admin. Code R645-400-350 et seq. Once an informal public hearing is
scheduled, you will be notified of the date, time, and location ofthe hearing.

If this notice requires cessation of mining, it will expire within 30 days from the date you are notified unless an informal
public hearing is held or waived, or the condition, practice, or violation is abated within the 30-day period.

FORMAL REVIEW AND TEMPORARY RELIEF.
You may appeal this notice or order to the Board of Oil, Gas, and Mining by submitting an application for hearing within 30

days of receipt of this notice or order. See Utah Admin. Code R645-300-164.300. Please submit the application for hearing

to:
Secretary
Board of Oil, Gas, and Mining
1594 West North Temple, Suite l2l0
PO Box 145801

salt Lake ciry, urah 84114-5801

If applying for a formal board hearing, you may submit with your petition for review a request for"temporary rclief'from
this notice. Procedures for obtaining a formal board hearing are contained in the Board's Rules of Practice and Procedure and

in Utah Admin. Code R645-401-800 et. seq.

EFFECT ON PERMIT.
The permit may be suspended or revoked if it is determined that a pattern of violations of the Act, regulations or permit
conditions exists, and that the violations were caused by an unwarranted or willful failure to comply.

For further information, consult Utah Code Ann. $ 40-10-20 through 40-10-23 and Utah Admin. Code R645-400-300 et. seq,

and R645-401 et. seq., or contact the Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining at (801) 538-5340.
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(Endorsement Required)

Restrictsd Deltuery Fee
(Endoreement Fequ ired)

#ffiffi$ffifi&t usffi

rorar Pa Kirk Nicholes
Alton Coal Development LLC

Hi'iF 463 North 100 West, Suite 1

I:L^? Cedar City, Utah 8472A
Cly, Sea


